I’ve got “Blood on the Floor!”

Blood on the Floor - How Writers Survive Rejection

Joshua Cochran’s Blood on the Floor: How Writers Survive Rejection, featuring my story “The Diction-fairy,” is now available on Amazon.comBlood on the Floor is very much a “by writers for writers” sort of project – an anthology about rejection, and how we cope with it. Some wrote poetry, some wrote literary thinkpieces, I wrote a fantasy story about a writer and his childhood friend.

As a writer, I’ve dealt with hundreds of rejections since that first one in 1999. I sent off my story, “The Remedy,” to Asimov’s Science Fiction & Fantasy. And in 1999, electronic submissions were only for strange, edgy little indie magazines, not respectable markets like Asimov’s. It took six months for the rejection letter to arrive. I was devastated – certain they had my name written down for the ‘automatic rejection’ list if I ever submitted anything else. Nowadays, I have rejections down to a regular system, and rejoice in every rejection letter I get – it’s one step closer to finding the right market for that story.

But I agree with what one of the other featured writers said: “I wish I’d had a book like this when I was just starting out.” So if you’ve ever felt the sting of rejection… felt the thrill of getting a response turn to ashes… wanted to set a magazine’s offices on fire… go ahead and buy a copy of Blood on the Floor. And if you happen to know a writer, can I highly recommend it as a Christmas present? They’ll thank you when the crying stops.

Other than that, I’m mostly really excited for this weird little anthology, and I hope it does well. That and enjoying the Zen of being accepted to a rejection anthology…

About R. Jean Mathieu

They say he speaks five languages, was conceived on a chess board, and once seduced a tong boss' daughter and lived to tell the tale. All we know is, he's called Roscoe. You can find more scurrilous lies at rjeanmathieu.com and buy his books at fedoraarts.com. View all posts by R. Jean Mathieu

Leave a Reply

